From Los Angeles, California, Katherine Kim of Lafayette College had a most successful IHSA debut on September 24th. Kim poses with the blue ribbon she won in novice flat as Kutztown hosted the season opener in 90 degree temperatures. Though Kim would win the Leopard's only blue ribbon that day Lafayette won the October 7th East Stroudsburg show and hold first place in the region through four shows.

Kim was not the only Californian to win a class on opening day. Sam Ruhe of Lehigh University (pictured, holding "Andi" who teamed with several riders to secure blue ribbons) hails from Davis, California. Ruhe was a blue ribbon winner in advanced walk-trot-canter. Due to weather concerns the Lehigh show on October 29th has been moved to Palermo Show Stables in Bedminster, NJ and will start at roughly 9:30AM.
The University of Scranton finished third behind Rutgers and Bloomsburg at the September 24th Kutztown show. Katelyn Langford of the Royals (pictured) played a big part in gathering those points, as the junior from Temple, Pennsylvania won the open fences class which started the show and later placed second in open flat. With no one earning two firsts and no other rider earning a first and a second Langford was the first high point rider of the new season.
Rachel VanDemark (on left) and Emma Brown (on right) were two of the earlier Rutgers University riders on September 24th. Brown won the Scarlet Knights' first blue ribbon of the season with a first in intermediate fences. Vandemark was second to Langford in the open fences class which preceeded it. Rutgers won on opening day with 41 points, eleven more than runner-up Bloomsburg. However following Lafayette's win two weekends later Bloomsburg won both shows over the October 14/15 weekend. After those contests Lafayette was six ahead of Bloomsburg while Rutgers was third overall 16 points off the lead.
Several schools which have been located in Zone 3, Region 1 the past few seasons have moved into other regions for the 2017-18 school year. Region 4 gained Lebanon Valley College from Region 1 and LVC started off as well as one could hope. Their first rider of the day was Rebekah Brown (on right, with head coach Cheryl Keller), a junior from Narvon, Pennsylvania who proceeded to win the second section of novice fences.
DeSales University had but one rider entered in the season opener, but she did as well as possible. Mariana Aversa (on horse) and head coach Beth LaFrenz pose following the former's win in the lone section of walk-trot held that day. From Nazareth, Pennsylvania, Aversa has been dominant in the division through four shows this season, earning two firsts, a second and a fifth which accounts for all 21 of DeSale's team points!
Click on map ZONE 1 ZONE 4 ZONE 5 ZONE 7 ZONE 6 ZONE 8 ZONE 2 ZONE 3
Click on the map to get information and results from IHSA shows.


Contact Info


powered by FreeFind

The Zone 3, Region 4 Smorgasbord

 Schools competing in Zone 3, Region 4 during the 2017-2018 school year: Bloomsburg University, De Sales University, East Stroudsburg University, Kutztown University, Lafayette College, Lebanon Valley College, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Rutgers University and University of Scranton.

Uncle Jimmy's
 Fall 2017 Show Schedule for Zone 3, Region 4:

englishSunday, September 24 Kutztown University (Host) at Valley Mist Farm, Oley, PA 9:00AM ENGLISH ONLY

westernSunday, October 1 Susquehanna University (Host) at Buffalo Valley Riding Club, Lewisburg, PA 9:00AM WESTERN ONLY

westernSunday, October 1 Bucknell University (Host) at Buffalo Valley Riding Club, Lewisburg, PA HELD FOLLOWING THE CONCLUSION OF THE SUSQUEHANNA SHOW - WESTERN ONLY

englishSaturday, October 7 East Stroudsburg University (Host) at Phoenix Rising Farm, Milford, NJ 8:30AM ENGLISH ONLY

englishSaturday, October 14 Bloomsburg University (Host) at Keystone Horse Center, Bloomsburg, PA 9:00AM ENGLISH ONLY

englishSunday, October 15 University of Scranton (Host) at Keystone Horse Center, Bloomsburg, PA 8:00AM ENGLISH ONLY

westernSaturday, October 28 University of Delaware (Host) at Saddlebrook Stables, Schwenksville, PA 9:00AM WESTERN ONLY

westernSaturday, October 28 Villanova University (Host) at Saddlebrook Stables, Schwenksville, PA HELD FOLLOWING THE CONCLUSION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE SHOW - WESTERN ONLY

englishSunday, October 29 Lehigh University (Host) at Palermo Show Stables, Bedminster, NJ 9:30AM ENGLISH ONLY

englishSaturday, November 4 Lafayette College (Host) at Someday Stables, Whitehouse Station, NJ 8:30AM ENGLISH ONLY

westernSunday, November 12 Kutztown University (Host) at Willow Brook Farm, Catasqua, PA 9:00AM WESTERN ONLY

westernSunday, November 12 William Paterson University (Host) at Willow Brook Farm, Catasqua, PA HELD FOLLOWING THE CONCLUSION OF THE KUTZTOWN SHOW - WESTERN ONLY

westernSaturday, November 18 Delaware Valley University (Host) at Saddlebrook Stables, Schwenksville, PA 9:00AM 2 WESTERN ONLY

Western shows are doubleheaders, with one school hosting the first show of the day and the other the second. Schools in each Zone 3 Hunter Seat Region will show western as part of one big region in 2017-18. Show Schedule subject to change.

The 3D Palette Website Design
Recent Region 4 Team Champions (Region 4 created from portions of Regions 2 and 3 prior to the 2001-02 season)

Hunter Seat:

2002 - Bucknell University
2003 - Bucknell University
2004 - Kutztown University
2005 - Bucknell University
2006 - Princeton University
2007 - Kutztown University
2008 - East Stroudsburg University
2009 - Lafayette College
2010 - Lafayette College
2011 - Lafayette College
2012 - Rutgers University
2013 - Rutgers University
2014 - Lafayette College
2015 - Lafayette College
2016 - Rutgers University
2017 - Rutgers University

Western (recognized as Zone 3, Region 2 1998-2001, then as Zone 3 2001-02, Zone 3, Region 4 2002-05, Zone 3, Region 1/3/4 2005-10, Zone 3, Region 3/4 2010-14, Zone 3, Region 3/4/5 2014-15, Zone 3, Region 4/5 2015-16 and again simply as Zone 3 2016-17):

1999 - Kutztown University
2000 - Kutztown University
2001 - University of Delaware
2002 - Rutgers University
2003 - Kutztown University
2004 - Kutztown University
2005 - West Virginia University
2006 - West Virginia University
2007 - West Virginia University
2008 - West Virginia University
2009 - West Virginia University
2010 - West Virginia University
2011 - Centenary College
2012 - Centenary College
2013 - Centenary College
2014 - Centenary College
2015 - University of Delaware
2016 - University of Delaware
2017 - Delaware Valley University

Red Facebook Icon

 Regional Qualifiers

 Open Level Rider Standings

 Alumni Standings

 Team Standings

Equestrian Talent Search

 Region 1 Homepage

 Region 2 Homepage

 Region 3 Homepage

 Region 5 Homepage



© 2002 - 2017 Campus Equestrian